In 1886 the Episcopal Church of the Incarnation, located on Madison Avenue and 35th Street, NYC, rented a farmhouse at Mohegan Lake from R. Horne as part of a “fresh air” program sponsored by the New York Tribune. Children from the tenements of New York’s lower East Side, many of whom immigrated from Europe with their families during the 1880s, were brought from often squalid living conditions to spend a week in the fresh country air of upstate New York. The Rev. Arthur Brooks of the Church of the Incarnation persuaded his parishioners to rent the furnished farmhouse, and on June 19, 1886, 25 young boys and girls from the east side of Manhattan became the first campers. Each summer, some 230 children benefited from the experience. Over time the Incarnation Center grew and became what it is now, a place for people of all ages and backgrounds to experience “Growth, Discovery and Renewal.”

Our Executive Directors

Nancy Nygard Pilon, Ph.D

Nancy Nygard Pilon, Ph.D

(Executive Director 2010-)
(Assoc. Exec. Director 2008-2010)
(Summer Camp Director 2003-2008)

Rev. Canon Richard (Peter) Larom, Jr.

Rev. Canon Richard Larom, Jr.

(Director 2003-2010)

Thomas Robertson

Thomas Robertson

(Interim Director 2001-2002)

Rev. Douglas Schwert

Rev. Douglas Schwert

(Director 1997-2001)

Richard Weinman

Richard Weinman

(Interim Director 1995-1997)

Andrew Katsanis

Andrew Katsanis

(Director 1957-1995)

Rudolph Giuliani

(Director 1950-1957)

 

Rev. Nicholas M Feringa

(Director 1925-1943)

Rev. Arthur Brooks

(Founder/Director 1886)

Share this: